UPT's 2019 Driver of the Year

February 6, 2020

Alexander named UPT’s 2019 Driver of the Year during Awards Weekend

United Petroleum Transports has named Houston owner-operator John Alexander as the company’s 2019 Professional Driver of the Year.

Alexander was one of 12 drivers selected as Driver of the Year nominees from the more than 600 company drivers, owner-operators and lease drivers who work under the UPT banner serving customers across the nation. From those nominated drivers, a special committee created by the Oklahoma Highway Patrol reviewed each professional driver’s safety and performance metrics and determined the Driver of the Year, with the winner announced during UPT’s Awards Weekend on Jan. 24 in Austin.

“Our Driver of the Year and all of our nominees not only represent the best of UPT, but also the best of our industry because they have exceeded the high standards of safety and customer service that define our company,” UPT President and CEO Greg Price said.

Alexander has been a professional driver for 24 years and joined UPT in 2011. He has been a UPT Driver of the Year nominee twice before and has been named Driver of the Quarter for the company twice as well.

Other professional drivers nominated for UPT’s Driver of the Year award were: Felix Contreras, El Paso; Luis Estrada, Oklahoma City; Scott Johnson, Wichita; Kevin Jordan, San Antonio; Lazaro Llanes, Albuquerque; Raul Marterior, Houston; WC Moseley, Odessa; Garry Northrup, Oklahoma City; Ronald Shults, Odessa; Carl Thederahn, Oklahoma City; and Christian Torres, Houston.

“We’re honored to recognize John and all of our Driver of the Year nominees for their dedication to safety and excellence,” UPT Chief Operating Officer David Price said. “These members of the UPT family have proven to be the best in their profession, and they represent our company well.”